The coldest night -13°C - en

sunrise (c)michimurg
sunrise (c)michimurg

I love to camp, wether in a tent or unter the skies. As a scout, as well as a mountaineer, you kind of have to have that desire. But if it get's freezing cold, it's not that simple anymore. Just wanting it is noth enough. You need the right gear!

As erverytime, I want to test my limits an the limits of my gear. Therefore I had to wait for extreme cold conditions, which came on the 18th of January. And because everything is better with a friend, I talked my "alpine hell partner-in-crime" Michi into it. There wasn't much persuation needed.

Gearcheck: For temperatures above zero degrees celisus, I use a thin Mountain Equipment down sleepingbag. Very light, without a hood it's perfect for hiking. The official comfortlimit is around +5°C, but with warm undies and thick socks I'm fine till 0°C. My big one from Carinthia is a down beast. -19°C comfortlimit, but a huge pack and heavy as well. 

I planned to put the small one into the big one! I hoped to find the appropirate temperatures for this kind of measure that exact night.

The first glow of sunlight in the Hochschwab range
The first glow of sunlight in the Hochschwab range

We started in the late evening on January 18th. We packed everything we could think of, including hot leek soup in a thermosbottle. The hike up was ordinary and beautiful at the same time. We enjoyed the cold and were only disturbed by two bikers coming downhill in the dark. At the summit plateau it started to get really cold. We put on everything we had, but I only brought winter running shoes, because they were lighter uphill. (stupid me) The Suunto showed -11°C. We hurried to put up the tent, because our fingers were freezing in the thin golves. Of course we took some pictures; quite painful on the fingertips. But we finally made it into the tent and into our sleeping bags. We enjoyed our midnight snacks - energy cake, leek soup and tea. Concerning my two sleepingbag solution I wore only undies, socks and my primaloft short (best buy ever; no freezing buttcheeks again). Michi just took off his shoes ;). The Suunto showed -13°C outside of the tent.

So far, so good. Except the the liquid intake was a little too high to sleep through the night. I couldn't sleep anymore and had to go outside. A unpleasant thing to do in -10°C. Next time I'll pack a pee-bottle. But all in all I slept well and it was sufficient warm the whole time. Everywhere but the nose. The morning after brought us a beautiful sunrise, which we captured, of course. While putting down the tent the first hiker arrived at the summit. "I come here ervery day" he said.

 

Conclusion: Awesome project, can't wait for the next winter! I'll bring my pee-bottle and maybe a new pair of down mittens. And if it's not cold enough here, we always can drive to the real cool spots in Lungau or Mariazell.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 7
  • #1

    Ashlyn Sipe (Montag, 06 Februar 2017 23:11)


    Highly energetic post, I liked that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

  • #2

    Bethany Coombs (Dienstag, 07 Februar 2017 04:25)


    I am now not sure where you're getting your info, however great topic. I must spend a while finding out much more or working out more. Thank you for excellent information I used to be searching for this info for my mission.

  • #3

    Dan Killeen (Mittwoch, 08 Februar 2017 13:33)


    Hello there I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Aol for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don't have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  • #4

    Wendie Flore (Mittwoch, 08 Februar 2017 22:05)


    Useful information. Lucky me I found your web site accidentally, and I am stunned why this accident did not took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

  • #5

    Vincenzo Pellegrino (Mittwoch, 08 Februar 2017 23:50)


    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday. It will always be helpful to read through content from other authors and practice something from their web sites.

  • #6

    Makeda Foret (Freitag, 10 Februar 2017)


    Now I am going away to do my breakfast, later than having my breakfast coming over again to read additional news.

  • #7

    Darlene Ogilvie (Freitag, 10 Februar 2017 05:25)


    Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I'll just sum it up what I had written and say, I'm thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I'm still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers? I'd really appreciate it.