Kick-Off - en

Normally I´m not the biggest fan of new year`s resolutions. You challenge yourself, most of the time something hard, and you fail - most of the time.

 

But this is something different!

But therefore I have to go the long way around.

Since I can remember, I am enthusiastic about mountains. And I always had ambitious goals. I was never satisfied with what I´ve done. I studied maps, read guidebooks and dreamt of climbing all these mountains I read about. I literally wanted to climb all mountains. ALL OF THEM.

When I finally got my drivers license, I first drove to the Gesäuse (a mountain range 3 hours away from home), and hiked onto the Hochtor all by myself. Not a big deal, but it was a new chapter. I wasn`t tied to my parents or grandparents anymore and felt I could finally achieve all my mountaineering goals. At least I thought so.

I realized quickly, that I didn´t had as much fun alone on the mountain, as if I was accompanied by a good friend. My brothers were my first "partners in crime" and they had no choice but to tag along with my ambitions - for now. Hiking wasn´t enough anymore, so we began with rock climbing. At the closest crag. During wintertime. With brand new gear and a copy of Heinz Zacks saftey manual "Seiltechnik". Luckly it worked out quite fine.

 

This was 11 years ago.

The desire to climb very high mountains faded, but I wanted to raise my limits in sportclimbing. Ultimately I stuck to sportclimbing, despite practicing nearly all alpine disciplines infrequently. AND TRAILRUNNING!

First just as training for other goals or during my many injury timeouts, I fell in love. Kilian Jornet and the rise of the sport infected me more and more. I really like the idea of the  fast-and-light approach. It´s is the same as Messner practiced it - but even better.

And here I am. 2015 was a good year for me. I could climb my first 8a/5.13 and reached 50.000 meters elevation gain during trailrunning and mountaineering.

 

2016 I want to top that! The main objective is to run 75.000 positive meters. And I hope I can keep my sportclimbing level at the 8a grade and climb at least one route inthat grade. That would satisfy me a lot.

And I thought telling others about it. In a blog or such a thing.....

 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0